THE PROJECT

People are accustomed to rely on their sensations and to assign this right. But what happens when one is confronted with a completely different sense-perception?

We believe that the personal experience of confusion, disorientation and uncertainty has the potential to better understand the situation of people with dementia. From this experience a strong perception alteration, it seems easier to think and talk about dementia. With our project we want to contribute to improve social awareness about dementia.

In a new way the project makes the individual challenges visible, where people with dementia face every day and in a world that is dominated by competition, speed and overstimulation.

We do not have the opportunity and the right to say: “That’s how dementia does feel like.“ But we can make uncertainty and fears perceived. In public interventions in Vienna, we gave people the opportunity to influence their sense acoustically and visually by means of two artistic objects.

Our goal is, to address the topic of dementia unconventional and generate new approaches. People with dementia should as long as possible participate in public life.

 

 
 

THE TEAM

 
 

Cornelia Bast

Cornelia Bast is artist and design-communicator. She earned a Bachelor degree in „Applied Arts and Design Communication“ and a Master degree in “Social Design – Arts as Urban Innovation” from the University of Applied Arts Vienna. Prior to that she completed a Higher Technical School for Biochemistry, worked in a Research Institute for Leukaemia, graduated from the Academy for Midwifery, worked as midwife at the Vienna Medical University Clinic for Gynaecology and Obstetrics, and was trained at the Austrian Society for Medical and Dental Hypnosis.

Cornelia Bast participated in artistic research projects on the situation of children in St.Anna Childrens’ Cancer Hospital and on the situation of women in Womens’ Shelters. Her artistic work oscillates between performative interventions in public spaces, multi-media installations and multi sensory, interactive objects allocated between fine arts, performance and design. While working on “Feel Dementia” she attended a training at Alzheimer Austria. Cornelia Bast is particularly interested in the social impact of art and design and addresses these aspects also in her broadcasts, produced as editorial staff member at „Radio derive – Radio for Urban Research“.

cornelia.bast@feeldementia.com

www.corneliabast.com 

 

 

Antonia Eggeling

Antonia Eggeling is Industrial Designer (BA 2013 Folkwang University, Essen) with a focus on social value. On this basis, she graduated from the master program "Social Design - Arts as Urban Innovation" (University of Applied Arts Vienna) where she focused on the participation of target groups in creative processes, as well as on topics like social participation and inclusion.

By 2011, Antonia has dealt with the topic of dementia and designed a holistic restaurant concept with corresponding tableware. As part of her research she participated in a seminar on dementia organized by Caritas Essen. For the current project, she completed an additional training for members and volunteers at Alzheimer Austria.

antonia.eggeling@feeldementia.com

www.antoniaeggeling.com

DAS PROJEKT

Die Menschen sind es gewohnt, sich auf ihre Sinneseindrücke zu verlassen und diese richtig zuordnen zu können. Was aber passiert, wenn man mit einer völlig veränderten Sinneswahrnehmung konfrontiert wird?

Wir sind der Ansicht, dass das persönliche Erleben von Verwirrung, Desorientierung und Unsicherheit das Potenzial hat, die Situation von Menschen mit Demenz besser zu verstehen. Aus dieser Erfahrung einer starken Wahrnehmungsveränderung erscheint es leichter, über Demenz nachzudenken und zu reden. Mit unserem Projekt wollen wir dazu beitragen, das gesellschaftliche Bewusstsein über Demenz zu verbessern.

Auf eine neue Art und Weise macht das Projekt die individuellen Herausforderungen sichtbar, denen sich Menschen mit Demenz tagtäglich stellen und das in einer Welt, die geprägt ist von Wettbewerb, Geschwindigkeit und Reizüberflutung.

Wir haben nicht die Möglichkeit und das Recht zu behaupten: So ist es, dement zu sein. Aber wir können Unsicherheit und Ängste wahrnehmbar machen. In öffentlichen Interventionen bieten wir Menschen in Wien die Möglichkeit, ihre Sinne akustisch und visuell mit Hilfe von zwei künstlerischen Objekten zu beeinflussen.

Unser Ziel ist es, das Thema Demenz unkonventionell zu thematisieren und neue Ansätze hervorzubringen. Menschen mit Demenz sollen möglichst lang am öffentlichen Leben teilhaben können.

 

 

 
 

DAS TEAM

 
 

Cornelia Bast

Cornelia Bast ist Künstlerin, die sich in ihren Arbeiten immer wieder mit den sozialen Wirkungen von Kunst und Design befasst. Nach Ausbildungen in den Bereichen Biochemie, Geburtshilfe und hypnotische Kommunikation und beruflichen Tätigkeiten in einem Forschungsinstitut für Leukämie und als Hebamme an der Wiener Universitätsklinik für Frauenheilkunde und Geburtshilfe absolvierte sie das Bachelor Studium „Applied Arts and Design Communication“ und das Masterstudium „Social Design – Arts as Urban Innovation“ an der Universität für Angewandte Kunst Wien.

Cornelia Bast nahm an künstlerischen Forschungsprojekten über die Situation krebskranker Kinder im St.Anna Kinderspital und über die Situation von Bewohnerinnen der Wiener Frauenhäuser teil. Ihr Arbeit oszilliert zwischen performativen Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum, multimedialen Installationen und multisensorischen interaktiven Objekten im Schnittfeld von Kunst und Design. Als Mitglied der Redaktion von "Radio dérive - Radio für Stadtforschung" widmet sie sich sozialen und politischen Aspekten von Stadt und Stadtentwicklung.

cornelia.bast@feeldementia.com

www.corneliabast.com 

 

 

Antonia Eggeling

Antonia Eggeling ist Industrial Designerin (B.A. 2013, Folkwang Universität der Künste, Essen) mit Fokus auf gesellschaftlichen Mehrwert. Darauf aufbauend beschäftigt sie sich in Ihrem Masterstudium “Social Design – Arts as Urban Innovation” (Universität für Angewandte Kunst Wien) mit der Partizipation von Zielgruppen in kreativen Prozessen, sowie den Themen gesellschaftliche Teilhabe und Inklusion.

Schon 2011 hat Antonia sich mit dem Thema Demenz auseinandergesetzt und eine ganzheitliches Restaurantkonzept mit dazugehöriger Geschirrserie entworfen. Als Teil ihrer Recherche hat sie bei der Caritas Essen ein mehrtägiges Seminar über Demenz besucht. Für das jetzige Projekt hat sie zusätzlich eine Fortbildung für Angehörige und Freiwillige bei Alzheimer Austria absolviert.

antonia.eggeling@feeldementia.com

www.antoniaeggeling.com